Facebook Further Limits Your Privacy
Your ability to control who can find you via Facebook search – has become a giant headache.
This privacy change means that, soon, anyone will be able to look you up on Facebook unless you’ve specifically blocked them. This means users who have previously hidden their profiles and made themselves unsearchable to the general public will no longer be able to do so, unless they want to go ahead and block every Facebook user besides their existing group of friends, which would take an incredible amount of time considering there are well over a billion users. Facebook removed this option for people who weren’t already using it last year, but for those users who have chosen to keep their profiles out of the public search, this change strips their ability to keep that privacy setting. This will be a giant headache for teachers, who use this setting to have a Facebook page without worrying about students seeing them holding a beer on their trip to Florida, and any users with public personas who want to keep a personal account for friends and family.–DigitalTrends.com
Prior to this, you could set your privacy settings to allow only friends or friends of friends to look up your Timeline by name. Facebook claims that only a single-digit percentage of users took advantage of this privacy option, which is why it’s removing it. But this change will allow any user of Facebook that you haven’t specifically blocked the ability to see your name, your profile picture, your gender, and your cover photo. It will also allow users to see your networks, although there is still an opt-out option for that.–DigitalTrends.com
573 total views, 1 views today